Pure Pet FoodvsButternut Box

Pure Pet Food vs Butternut Box: same dog, two bills

For the same 15 kg adult, Pure Pet Food works out at 206 g a day versus Butternut Box’s 616 g. Both quote personalised prices after a quiz, so neither has a comparable daily bill published, checked 21 October 2026.

Pure Pet FoodChicken

206g

price after the brand’s quiz

Pure Pet Food Butternut Box

Butternut BoxChicken

616g

price after quiz · brand says from £2 a day

Pure Pet Food: 206 grams a day, price after quiz. Butternut Box: 616 grams a day, price after quiz. 801 kcal a day for a 15 kg adult, neutered, 1–3 hours calm walks.

From 1.5 to 80 kg

Estimates for healthy dogs at ideal weight. Ask your vet; weigh monthly and adjust. How we calculate

Same dog

Why are the portions so different?

The main gap is food weight, not an established price difference. Pure’s portion is weighed dry, before adding water; Butternut’s is cooked food. Fewer grams do not mean fewer calories.

Both portions use an estimated 801 kcal a day. The FEDIAF, AAHA and WSAVA methods give a range of 747–854 kcal for this dog. The calculation method explains how calories become grams.

Compare the same calorie allowance, not equal weights of dried and cooked food.

15 kg adult, 801 kcal a day, prices checked 21 October 2026

Pure Pet Food

Type
Dried, add water
Calories (label)
3,880 kcal/kg
Grams a day, 15 kg adult
206 g
Per day
After quiz
Trustpilot
4.6 / 5

Butternut Box

Type
Cooked
Calories (label)
1,300 kcal/kg
Grams a day, 15 kg adult
616 g
Per day
After quiz
Trustpilot
4.8 / 5 (50,814)

Bowl by bowl

Your first two months, bowl by bowl

Thirty bowls a month for the dog above; a mark shows where a new box starts. Without published box prices the month is the price per day × 30.

  1. Pure Pet FoodChicken · 206 g a day
    Month 1after quiz
    Month 2after quiz

    Each bowl: 206 g by the calories on its label. The price shows only after the brand’s quiz.

  2. Butternut BoxChicken · 616 g a day
    Month 1after quiz
    Month 2after quiz

    Each bowl: 616 g by the calories on its label. The price shows only after the brand’s quiz. The brand says plans start around £2 a day.

  3. Natures MenuCountry Hunter 80% Chicken Nuggets · 602 g a daysimilar, open price
    Month 1£117.30£3.91 × 30 days
    Month 2£117.30£3.91 × 30 days

    One-time price; subscribers save 10% (1 kg), spread per day: we don’t know how the brand splits it into boxes. Checked 21 Oct 2026.

  4. Bella + DukeComplete Raw Adult, Chicken · 778 g a daysimilar, with an open price
    Month 1£167.40£5.58 × 30 days
    Month 2£167.40£5.58 × 30 days

    Pets at Home shelf price (500 g at Pets at Home), spread per day: we don’t know how the brand splits it into boxes. Checked 21 Oct 2026.

Some buttons are partner links: we may earn a commission if you buy.

Recipes

Are the calorie figures recipe-specific?

Pure lists Chicken with garden greens & strawberry pieces at 388 kcal per 100 g dry, before adding water. Its dehydrated format explains the smaller portion.

Butternut lists Chicken You Out, but its published 130 kcal per 100 g is an average across current recipes, not a Chicken-specific figure. Butternut says leaner meals may need larger portions, so the table is a starting comparison rather than an exact recipe match.

Pure’s figure is for its Chicken recipe; Butternut’s is a range-wide average.

Recipes and label calories
BrandRecipeTypekcal/kg
Pure Pet FoodChickenDried, add water3,880
Butternut BoxChickenCooked1,300

Four dogs

How does dog size change the portion?

For the 5 kg adult, estimates are 82 g of Pure or 245 g of Butternut daily. The same calorie-density difference carries through the larger-dog portions: more concentrated food means fewer grams, not less energy.

These are starting estimates, not fixed feeding instructions. Weigh your dog monthly and adjust the amount as weight changes. Ask your vet about puppy portions, especially for large-breed puppies.

Choose the dog profile first, then convert its calorie allowance using the food’s published energy figure.

Grams a day for four dogs (label calories)
  • Pure Pet Food · 5 kg adultAfter quiz
    82 g
  • Pure Pet Food · 15 kg adultAfter quiz
    206 g
  • Pure Pet Food · 30 kg working dogAfter quiz
    537 g
  • Pure Pet Food · 4-month puppy, 7 kgAfter quiz
    234 g
  • Butternut Box · 5 kg adultAfter quiz
    245 g
  • Butternut Box · 15 kg adultAfter quiz
    616 g
  • Butternut Box · 30 kg working dogAfter quiz
    1,602 g
  • Butternut Box · 4-month puppy, 7 kgAfter quiz
    699 g
Grams a day for four dogs (label calories)
Pure Pet Food · 5 kg adult82 g
Pure Pet Food · 15 kg adult206 g
Pure Pet Food · 30 kg working dog537 g
Pure Pet Food · 4-month puppy, 7 kg234 g
Butternut Box · 5 kg adult245 g
Butternut Box · 15 kg adult616 g
Butternut Box · 30 kg working dog1,602 g
Butternut Box · 4-month puppy, 7 kg699 g

Small to large

By the size of the dog

Adult dogs, neutered, calm walks of 1–3 hours. Where the brand shows no price, the column shows a similar brand with an open price.

Adult, neutered, 1–3 hours of calm walks. Grams by the calories on each label; prices checked 21 Oct 2026.
Dogkcal a dayPure Pet Food, gramsPure Pet Food, priceButternut Box, gramsButternut Box, priceNatures Menu, price (similar, open price)
5 kg35190 gafter quiz270 gafter quiz£1.71 £52/mo
15 kg801206 gafter quiz616 gafter quiz£3.91 £119/mo
25 kg1,174303 gafter quiz903 gafter quiz£5.73 £174/mo
35 kg1,511389 gafter quiz1,162 gafter quiz£7.37 £224/mo

Ordering

What happens when you order?

Pure says its questionnaire creates a personalised recipe or plan. Butternut’s website advertised 25% off the first 2 boxes and free next-day delivery on 21 October 2026. That is an introductory offer, not the ongoing price.

The practical contrast is add-water food versus frozen deliveries. Butternut says to use defrosted food within 7 days and opened pouches within two days in the fridge. Its help instructions also describe pausing through the account dashboard.

Compare the ongoing quote separately from the introductory offer, and plan for Butternut’s frozen deliveries.

In the brands’ own words
Pure Pet FoodButternut Box
How the plan is set“Complete our quick questionnaire about your dog and we’ll create a perfectly personalised…”“No commitment Tailored to them For all life stages”
First boxnot stated on its pages“25% off your first 2 boxes FREE next day delivery”
Delivery“Choose your location Please confirm your location to ensure you see the correct products…”“Delivered freshly frozen. Once defrosted, use within 7 days. Once opened…”
Storagenot stated on its pages“Note: Our pouches stay fresh for up to two days in the fridge once opened…”
Pause or cancelnot stated on its pages“You will then be taken back to your dashboard, where it will show your account is paused…”

Owners

What do the Trustpilot scores show?

4.6 / 5Pure Pet Food on Trustpilot21 October 2026
4.8 / 5Butternut Box on Trustpilot50,814 reviews, 21 October 2026

On 21 October 2026, Pure Pet Food scored 4.6 out of 5 on Trustpilot. Butternut Box scored 4.8 out of 5 from 50,814 reviews.

Those are customer-review scores, not feeding assessments or a comparison of daily costs. The Pure Pet Food review and Butternut Box review cover each brand separately.

Butternut has the higher Trustpilot score at this check; that does not settle the food or price comparison.

Which one, by situation

Which format fits your routine?

Pure fits a preference for dehydrated food that you add water to. Its Chicken page lists calories and says the recipe suits all life stages, including puppies over 8 weeks old.

Butternut fits a preference for gently cooked food, with frozen delivery and fridge storage after defrosting. It also publishes calories, though as a recipe-range average. Neither format alone establishes which will cost less for your dog.

Choose between preparation and storage routines, then compare personalised quotes for the same dog.

Partner links

Where to check the price

Buttons open the brand’s store in a new tab. They are partner links: if you buy, this site may earn a commission at no cost to you. Order and prices on this page do not depend on it.

Questions

Pure Pet Food vs Butternut Box: short answers

Is Pure Pet Food cheaper than Butternut Box?

A lower daily cost cannot be established from these public pages. Compare both personalised quotes for the same dog, separating introductory discounts from the price that follows.

Why does Pure Pet Food need fewer grams than Butternut Box?

Pure lists 388 kcal per 100 g dry, while Butternut publishes an average of 130 kcal per 100 g. Pure’s calculated portion is weighed before adding water.

Is Pure Pet Food raw or cooked?

The Pure Chicken food compared here is dehydrated food prepared by adding water. Butternut Box is gently cooked and delivered frozen.

How much Pure Pet Food or Butternut Box does a 15 kg dog need?

For the moderately active, neutered adult used here, estimates are 206 g of Pure or 616 g of Butternut daily. These use 801 kcal a day; individual needs and Butternut recipe calories can vary.

Sources

  1. 1
    FEDIAF Nutritional Guidelines 2025europeanpetfood.org · checked 21 Oct 2026
  2. 2
    Pure Pet Food: 2026 Chickenpurepetfood.com · checked 21 Oct 2026
  3. 3
    Trustpilot: purepetfood.comuk.trustpilot.com · checked 21 Oct 2026
  4. 4
    Calorie Content of Butternut mealshelp.butternutbox.com · checked 21 Oct 2026
  5. 5
    Butternut Box: Chickenbutternutbox.com · checked 21 Oct 2026
  6. 6
    Trustpilot: butternutbox.comuk.trustpilot.com · checked 21 Oct 2026
Partner linksSome buttons are partner links: if you buy after clicking, this site may earn a commission at no cost to you. Rows are sorted by price per day, never by commission; brands without a program are listed the same way.
Not veterinary adviceCalories and grams are estimates for healthy adult dogs at ideal weight. Ask your vet, especially about puppies, weight loss or illness; weigh your dog monthly.
Not tested by usNo food is fed or tested here. Calories, prices and terms come from brands’ own pages, checked 21 October 2026; brand claims are quoted as their words.

Cookies Analytics cookies. Accept lets Google Analytics and Microsoft Clarity set cookies to see how the site is used. Reject: no analytics cookies and no Clarity; Google gets only cookieless visit signals. Google Analytics and Microsoft Clarity set cookies only if you accept. Privacy policy