Butternut Boxno partner programTrustpilot 4.8 · 50,814 reviews

Butternut Box review: recipes, cost and what owners report

Butternut Box scores 4.8 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 50,814 reviews as of 21 October 2026. A moderately active 15 kg adult needs an estimated 616 g a day using the published calorie figure; the price comes after its quiz.

Butternut BoxChicken

616g

a day · 801 kcal

outlines: 4.5 kg and 45 kg dogs

Price a day

after quiz

the brand says plans start around £2 a day

Butternut Box: 616 grams a day, price after quiz. 801 kcal a day for a 15 kg adult, neutered, 1–3 hours calm walks.

From 1.5 to 80 kg

Estimates for healthy dogs at ideal weight. Ask your vet; weigh monthly and adjust. How we calculate

Recipes

Which recipes does Butternut Box list?

Butternut Box describes its meals as gently cooked. The Chicken entry uses 130 kcal per 100 g, although the brand explains that this is an average across its recipes rather than a separate measurement for each meal.

The brand also names Chicken You Out and lists chicken training treats. The latter are treats, not a meal. Cooked does not mean cupboard-stable: Butternut says its meals arrive frozen.

Use the calorie average with care when choosing a portion for a particular recipe.

  • price after quiz

    Chicken

    1,300 kcal/kg

    Cooked

    “Butternut meals contain an average of 130 calories per 100g.”
  • In the brand’s words

    Chicken You Out

    calories not on the label page

    “Bestseller • 60% protein • 12 veggies & minerals”

    “Chicken You Out Bestseller • 60% protein • 12 veggies & minerals”butternutbox.com
  • In the brand’s words

    Chicken Ultimate Training Treats

    calories not on the label page
    “Chicken Ultimate Training Treats”butternutbox.com

Cost for your dog

How much will your dog need?

The chart estimates 245 g a day for the 5 kg adult and 1,602 g for the 30 kg working dog. Activity matters alongside weight. These are calorie-based estimates using FEDIAF, AAHA and WSAVA methods, not fixed feeding instructions.

At the same check, Butternut Box’s website advertised “Fresh meals from: £2.34 / day”. It publishes no open pack price before its quiz. The amount of food, delivery frequency and chosen recipes determine the quote; the starting figure is not this dog’s price.

The grams can be estimated before ordering; the daily cost needs a personalised quote.

Butternut Box Chicken: grams a day by dog (label calories 1,300 kcal/kg)
  • 5 kg adult318 kcal a day
    245 g
  • 15 kg adult801 kcal a day
    616 g
  • 30 kg working dog2,083 kcal a day
    1,602 g
  • 4-month puppy, 7 kg909 kcal a day
    699 g

Butternut Box shows a price only after its quiz.

Butternut Box Chicken: grams a day by dog (label calories 1,300 kcal/kg)
5 kg adult245 g
15 kg adult616 g
30 kg working dog1,602 g
4-month puppy, 7 kg699 g

How ordering works

How does the subscription work?

  1. How the plan is set

    “No commitment Tailored to them For all life stages”butternutbox.com
  2. First box

    “25% off your first 2 boxes FREE next day delivery”butternutbox.com
  3. Price

    “Fresh meals from: £2.34 / day”butternutbox.com
  4. Delivery

    “Delivered freshly frozen. Once defrosted, use within 7 days. Once opened, use within 2 days.”butternutbox.com
  5. Pause or cancel

    “You will then be taken back to your dashboard, where it will show your account is paused, as follows:”help.butternutbox.com

Butternut says you create an account, answer questions and choose recipes for a tailored, portioned plan. Its pages advertise 25% off your first 2 boxes with free next-day delivery, and separately 50% off the first box. These are introductory offers, not ongoing prices.

The brand says you can stop at any time. In Account Details, select Pause Subscription and follow the prompts to Stop Subscription. Its instructions also describe reactivating deliveries.

Check which introductory offer applies, then review the continuing plan before confirming.

Delivery and storage

How should the food be stored?

Butternut says meals are delivered freshly frozen. Once defrosted, use within 7 days; once opened, use within 2 days. Plan freezer space around the delivery size rather than treating cooked food as shelf-stable.

The cited delivery wording advertises free next-day delivery with an introductory offer. It does not specify the delivery area or packaging materials.

Frozen delivery still requires attention to the shorter storage window after opening.

  • Delivery

    “your next box will be automatically scheduled to arrive either 7 or 14 days later, depending on your plan and pouch size.”help.butternutbox.com
  • Storage

    “Note: Our pouches stay fresh for up to two days in the fridge once opened. Just pop them in some tupperware to keep them fresh!”help.butternutbox.com
  • Pause and cancel

    “To stop (cancel) or skip your next box, you just need to access your account and change the date.”help.butternutbox.com
  • Packaging

    “We put just the right amount of ice packs and insulation in your box to make sure your food stays fresh until you arrive home, then you can pop the pouches into the freezer as soon as you can.”butternutbox.com

On the label

What does the label tell you?

The Chicken entry lists 130 kcal per 100 g as fed. Butternut says its average can vary naturally between batches, and that leaner-only meal selections may need larger portions.

Butternut calls all its meals “complete and balanced”. The Chicken label entry does not state a life stage; the ordering pages separately describe the plan as being for all life stages.

The brand’s general feeding claims and an individual recipe’s label information are different things.

Butternut Box labels: calories and life stage as printed, checked 21 October 2026
RecipeCalories (as fed)Life stageType
Chicken1,300 kcal/kg (130 per 100 g)not statedCooked

Statement: “Yes, all Butternut Box meals are complete and balanced.”

Owners and recalls

What do owners and recall searches show?

4.8 / 5Trustpilot50,814 reviews, 21 October 2026
0recall notices foundfood.gov.uk search, 21 October 2026

Trustpilot recorded 4.8 out of 5 from 50,814 reviews on 21 October 2026. This is an owners’ review score, not a nutritional assessment or a rating from this site.

A search of food.gov.uk on that date found no recall notice naming Butternut Box. That is a search result, not a guarantee.

Read the owner score and recall search as separate pieces of information.

Same dog, other brands

What do other brands cost?

For the same 15 kg adult, estimated daily costs are £3.91 for Natures Menu Country Hunter 80% Chicken Nuggets at its website’s one-time price, and £5.58 for Bella + Duke Complete Raw Adult, Chicken at Pets at Home’s shelf price, both checked 21 October 2026.

The comparison holds energy at 801 kcal a day. Different calorie densities explain the different gram amounts; Pure’s dried portion is weighed before adding water. See the raw food price comparison for more context.

Compare equal calories and matching price types, not equal packet weights.

15 kg adult (801 kcal a day): the same dog at each brand, prices checked 21 October 2026
Brand and recipeTypeGrams a dayPer dayPer monthPrice basis
Natures Menu Country Hunter 80% Chicken NuggetsRaw602 g£3.91£119One-time price; subscribers save 10%
Bella + Duke Complete Raw Adult, ChickenRaw778 g£5.58£170Pets at Home shelf price
Butternut Box ChickenCooked616 gAfter quiz—price after quiz
Pure Pet Food ChickenDried, add water206 gAfter quiz—price after quiz

Who it fits

Who might the plan suit?

Butternut may suit owners who want cooked, portioned deliveries and online subscription controls, and who are comfortable answering questions before comparing the final cost.

If an upfront shelf price is essential, the openly priced alternatives are easier to budget. Consider freezer space and delivery frequency alongside the quote; other options use different formats and buying arrangements.

The practical fit depends on storage, ordering preferences and the continuing quote.

  • Calories on the label page1,300 kcal/kg for Chicken.
    Suits
  • Pause or cancel onlineThe brand describes it on its own pages.
    Suits
  • Price before the quizNo open price; the quiz gives one.
    Not for

Butternut Box: no partner program

Similar brands with a partner link

Butternut Box has no partner program with this site, so it has no button here. These brands sell similar food; buttons open their stores in a new tab and are partner links: if you buy, this site may earn a commission at no cost to you.

Questions

Butternut Box: short answers

What ingredients are in Butternut Box?

Butternut describes Chicken You Out with the wording “60% protein” and “12 veggies & minerals”. That is not a full ingredient list. Its separate analytical declaration lists crude protein at 13.0%; the promotional wording should not be read as that analytical percentage.

Is Butternut Box worth it?

That depends on the continuing quote and whether cooked, portioned deliveries suit your household. Compare the quote against alternatives for the same daily calories, rather than judging it by an introductory discount.

What is the Butternut Box feeding guide?

For the moderately active 15 kg adult shown here, the estimate is 616 g a day, with calorie needs ranging from 747–854 kcal between methods. Treat this as a starting point, weigh your dog monthly and adjust. Ask your vet about puppy feeding or weight loss.

Can you pause or cancel Butternut Box?

Butternut says you can stop the subscription at any time through your account. Go to Account Details, choose Pause Subscription and follow the prompts for Stop Subscription; the brand also describes restarting deliveries.

Sources

  1. 1
    FEDIAF Nutritional Guidelines 2025europeanpetfood.org · checked 21 Oct 2026
  2. 2
    Calorie Content of Butternut mealshelp.butternutbox.com · checked 21 Oct 2026
  3. 3
    Butternut Box: Chickenbutternutbox.com · checked 21 Oct 2026
  4. 4
    Butternut Box (butternutbox.com)butternutbox.com · checked 21 Oct 2026
  5. 5
    Trustpilot: butternutbox.comuk.trustpilot.com · checked 21 Oct 2026
  6. 6
    Butternut Box: Training Treats Chickenbutternutbox.com · checked 21 Oct 2026
  7. 7
    Butternut Box: How the Subscription Workshelp.butternutbox.com · checked 21 Oct 2026
  8. 8
    Pure Pet Food: 2026 Chickenpurepetfood.com · checked 21 Oct 2026
  9. 9
    Pets at Home: Bella Plus Duke Complete Raw Adult Dog Food Sustainable Protein Packed Chickenpetsathome.com · checked 21 Oct 2026
  10. 10
    Natures Menu: Country Hunter Chicken Nuggetsnaturesmenu.co.uk · checked 21 Oct 2026
Partner linksSome buttons are partner links: if you buy after clicking, this site may earn a commission at no cost to you. Rows are sorted by price per day, never by commission; brands without a program are listed the same way.
Not veterinary adviceCalories and grams are estimates for healthy adult dogs at ideal weight. Ask your vet, especially about puppies, weight loss or illness; weigh your dog monthly.
Not tested by usNo food is fed or tested here. Calories, prices and terms come from brands’ own pages, checked 21 October 2026; brand claims are quoted as their words.

Cookies Analytics cookies. Accept lets Google Analytics and Microsoft Clarity set cookies to see how the site is used. Reject: no analytics cookies and no Clarity; Google gets only cookieless visit signals. Google Analytics and Microsoft Clarity set cookies only if you accept. Privacy policy