JustFoodForDogspartner linkTrustpilot 1.8 · rated “Poor”

JustFoodForDogs review: recipes, boxes and cost per day

JustFoodForDogs Beef & Russet Potato costs an estimated $12.16 a day for a 30 lb adult at the brand store’s one-time price on October 21, 2026. That buys 477 g (16.8 oz), using its label calories.

JustFoodForDogsBeef & Russet Potato

477g

a day · 16.8 oz · 744 kcal

outlines: 10 lb and 100 lb dogs

Price a day

$12.16

$370 a month · One-time price; the first subscription box is $91.00 · $11.54 a day from the 3rd box

JustFoodForDogs: 477 grams a day, $12.16 a day. 744 kcal a day for a 30 lb adult, neutered, 1–3 hours calm walks.

From 3 to 180 lb

Estimates for healthy dogs at ideal weight. Ask your vet; weigh monthly and adjust. How we calculate

Recipes

Which recipes are listed?

The brand lists Beef & Russet Potato, Fish & Sweet Potato and Venison & Squash as gently cooked recipes. Their labels give 1,559, 922 and 872 kcal ME per kg as fed, respectively. Beef supplies more calories per gram than either fish or venison.

Beef is listed as frozen and for adult maintenance. Fish is also sold as Fresh Frozen. These are freezer foods, not shelf-stable pantry packs.

Recipe choice changes the amount needed each day.

  • $11.55/lb

    Beef & Russet Potato

    1,559 kcal/kg

    Cooked · adult · frozen

    “1559 kcal ME/kg”
  • $8.67/lb

    Fish & Sweet Potato

    922 kcal/kg

    Cooked

    “Calorie Content (Calculated): 922 kcal ME/kg; 26 kcal ME/oz 468 kcal ME/18 oz; 1872 kcal ME/72 oz”
  • $11.56/lb

    Venison & Squash

    872 kcal/kg

    Cooked

    “Calorie Content (Calculated): 872 kcal ME/kg; 25 kcal ME/oz”

Bowl by bowl

Your first two months, bowl by bowl

Thirty bowls a month for the dog above; a mark shows where a new box starts. Without published box prices the month is the price per day × 30.

  1. JustFoodForDogsBeef & Russet Potato · 477 g a daythis brand
    Month 1$409.48boxes 1, 2, 3: $91.00 + $145.59 + $172.89 · one-time $545.97
    Month 2$345.78boxes 4, 5: $172.89 + $172.89 · one-time $363.98

    Small: 14 × 18 oz lasts 15 days for this dog; a marked bowl starts a new box. Subscription terms on the brand page: “50% off 1st order, 20% off 2nd order, and 5% off future orders”. Checked Oct 21, 2026.

Some buttons are partner links: we may earn a commission if you buy.

Every recipe

Each JustFoodForDogs recipe for the dog above

Grams by each recipe’s own label calories; price where the brand shows one.

Cost for your dog

What does a day cost?

At the same dated JustFoodForDogs store one-time price, Beef & Russet Potato ranges from $4.82 a day for the 10 lb adult to $24.33 for the 60 lb active adult. These estimates exclude tax and any shipping charge.

The puppy row is arithmetic, not a feeding recommendation: the brand says this beef recipe is not for growing puppies. Ask your vet about puppy food. Adult estimates use FEDIAF, AAHA and WSAVA formulas; the calculation method explains the differences.

Use the adult rows for budgeting, not the puppy row for choosing food.

JustFoodForDogs Beef & Russet Potato: price per day by dog, One-time price; the first subscription box is $91.00, checked October 21, 2026
  • 10 lb adult189 g a day · $147 a month
    $4.82
  • 30 lb adult477 g a day · $370 a month
    $12.16
  • 60 lb active adult955 g a day · $740 a month
    $24.33
  • 4-month puppy, 15 lb577 g a day · $447 a month
    $14.70

Adult recipe: the brand says it is not for growing puppies.

JustFoodForDogs Beef & Russet Potato: price per day by dog, One-time price; the first subscription box is $91.00, checked October 21, 2026
10 lb adult$4.82
30 lb adult$12.16
60 lb active adult$24.33
4-month puppy, 15 lb$14.70

How ordering works

How does the subscription work?

  1. First box

    “50% off 1st order, 20% off 2nd order, and 5% off future orders”justfoodfordogs.com
  2. Delivery

    “Free shipping on orders $49+”justfoodfordogs.com
  3. Pause or cancel

    “To skip an item in a future order, under ‘Future Orders,’click ‘More Options’ next to the item you want to change. Click ‘Skip Product.’”justfoodfordogs.com

The brand store lists the beef box at $181.99 one-time and $91.00 for the first subscription box. Its offer says 50% off the first order, 20% off the second and 5% off future orders.

JustFoodForDogs says subscribers can skip or cancel anytime. Its account instructions also describe “Skip Product” and “Pause Subscription” options. Free shipping applies to orders $49+.

The first-box price is not the recurring price.

Delivery and storage

When does it ship and store?

JustFoodForDogs says the first subscription order ships within 3 to 5 days of ordering. That is a dispatch window, not a promised arrival date.

The brand gives frozen food a freezer storage period of up to 18 months. It also offers a store finder, so delivery is not the only way to buy. Check freezer space before choosing a box.

Plan around frozen storage and the shipping window.

  • Delivery

    “Your first subscription order will ship within 3 to 5 days from the time you place your order.”justfoodfordogs.com
  • Storage

    “Frozen Food | Up to 18 months (547 days) in the freezer.”justfoodfordogs.com
  • Pause and cancel

    “Alternatively, in the same section, you can choose ‘Skip Product’ to move the item to the next order, or click ‘Pause Subscription’ to move the item to a future order.”justfoodfordogs.com
  • Packaging

    “Thawed Food – Fish | Thawed fish-based recipes stay fresh when sealed in the original package for up to 5 days. Once opened, use within 3 days.”justfoodfordogs.com

On the label

What do the labels establish?

Beef & Russet Potato is labeled for adult maintenance, not growing puppies. The brand states: “The JustFoodForDogs Nutrient Blend is formulated specifically for each recipe to meet AAFCO recommendations.” That statement concerns the nutrient blend; life stage still needs checking recipe by recipe.

Listed nutrient-blend ingredients include dicalcium phosphate, potassium chloride, calcium carbonate and taurine. These are blend components, not a full recipe ingredient list.

Check the exact recipe’s life stage as well as its calories.

JustFoodForDogs labels: calories and life stage as printed, checked October 21, 2026
RecipeCalories (as fed)Life stageType
Beef & Russet Potato1,559 kcal/kgAdultCooked
Fish & Sweet Potato922 kcal/kgnot statedCooked
Venison & Squash872 kcal/kgnot statedCooked

Statement: “The JustFoodForDogs Nutrient Blend is formulated specifically for each recipe to meet AAFCO recommendations.”

Owners and recalls

What do ratings and recalls show?

1.8 / 5TrustpilotOctober 21, 2026
1recall notice foundfda.gov search, October 21, 2026

Trustpilot rated JustFoodForDogs 1.8 out of 5, “Poor,” on October 21, 2026. The review count was not visible in the page capture.

The FDA-site search on that date found 1 recall notice. Published January 22, 2018, it covered Beef & Russet Potato, Fish & Sweet Potato and Turducken meals in all sizes for potential Listeria monocytogenes contamination. This is a search result, not a guarantee of a complete recall history.

Read the rating and recall result as separate signals.

Same dog, other brands

How does the same dog compare?

For the same 30 lb adult, Fish & Sweet Potato is an estimated $15.42 a day at the JustFoodForDogs store catalog price. Nom Nom Beef Mash is $15.60 at PetSmart’s shelf price, not its subscription price. Both prices were checked October 21, 2026.

Fish costs less per pound than beef but needs more grams to supply the same calories. Compare daily food prices, rather than pack prices alone.

Lower prices per pound do not necessarily mean lower prices per day.

30 lb adult (744 kcal a day): the same dog at each brand, prices checked October 21, 2026
Brand and recipeTypeGrams a dayPer dayPer monthPrice basis
JustFoodForDogs Beef & Russet PotatoCooked477 g$12.16$370One-time price; the first subscription box is $91.00
JustFoodForDogs Fish & Sweet PotatoCooked807 g$15.42$469Catalog price on the brand store
Nom Nom Beef MashCooked623 g$15.60$474PetSmart shelf price, not the subscription
A Pup Above Gently CookedCooked538 g$16.56$504One-time price, plus shipping

Who it fits

Who does it suit?

JustFoodForDogs suits owners who want a published price before checkout, label calories for portion calculations and the option to buy in stores. The brand also describes online subscription controls.

Beef & Russet Potato does not fit a growing puppy’s stated life stage. Owners without freezer space should look beyond this frozen recipe.

Match the recipe to life stage, freezer space and the ongoing budget.

  • Open pricePrice per pound is listed before checkout.
    Suits
  • Calories on the label page1,559 kcal/kg for Beef & Russet Potato.
    Suits
  • Sold in storesAlso on store shelves, not only by delivery.
    Suits
  • Pause or cancel onlineThe brand describes it on its own pages.
    Suits
  • Growing puppiesThe recipe checked is for adult maintenance.
    Not for

Partner links

Where to check JustFoodForDogs prices

Buttons open the brand’s store in a new tab. They are partner links: if you buy, this site may earn a commission at no cost to you. Order and prices on this page do not depend on it.

Questions

JustFoodForDogs: short answers

How much does JustFoodForDogs cost per month?

For the example 30 lb adult, Beef & Russet Potato is about $370 a month at the dated brand-store one-time price above. That is an estimate, not a subscription quote.

What is the JustFoodForDogs feeding guide?

The 30 lb adult estimate is 744 kcal a day, or 477 g of Beef & Russet Potato. Methods give a range of 694–794 kcal. Treat the amount as a starting point; weigh your dog and adjust if weight changes.

What ingredients are in JustFoodForDogs?

Ingredients vary by recipe. The brand lists nutrient-blend components including dried seaweed meal, marine microalgae oil, choline bitartrate and taurine; check the full ingredient list for the recipe being considered.

Are JustFoodForDogs reviews positive?

The dated Trustpilot snapshot above rates the brand “Poor.” That is an owner-review platform rating, not a nutritional assessment or a feeding test.

Can JustFoodForDogs feed growing puppies?

The brand says Beef & Russet Potato is not intended for growing puppies. It lists Fish & Sweet Potato for puppies and adults, including large-breed puppies; ask your vet before choosing a puppy diet.

Sources

  1. 1
    FEDIAF Nutritional Guidelines 2025europeanpetfood.org · checked Oct 21, 2026
  2. 2
    JustFoodForDogs: Beef Russet Potatojustfoodfordogs.com · checked Oct 21, 2026
  3. 3
    JustFoodForDogs: Fresh Fish Dog Food: White Fish & Sweet Potato Recipejustfoodfordogs.com · checked Oct 21, 2026
  4. 4
    JustFoodForDogs: Real Meat Venison Dog Food Recipejustfoodfordogs.com · checked Oct 21, 2026
  5. 5
    Trustpilot: justfoodfordogs.comtrustpilot.com · checked Oct 21, 2026
  6. 6
    FDA: JustFoodForDogs recalls three Daily Diets (possible Listeria monocytogenes)fda.gov · checked Oct 21, 2026
  7. 7
    JustFoodForDogs: Fresh Chicken and Rice Dog Foodjustfoodfordogs.com · checked Oct 21, 2026
  8. 8
    JustFoodForDogs: Turkey & Whole Wheat Pasta Fresh Dog Foodjustfoodfordogs.com · checked Oct 21, 2026
  9. 9
    JustFoodForDogs: Subscriptionsjustfoodfordogs.com · checked Oct 21, 2026
  10. 10
    PetSmart: Nom Nom All Life Stages Frozen Dog Food Beefpetsmart.com · checked Oct 21, 2026
Partner linksSome buttons are partner links: if you buy after clicking, this site may earn a commission at no cost to you. Rows are sorted by price per day, never by commission; brands without a program are listed the same way.
Not veterinary adviceCalories and grams are estimates for healthy adult dogs at ideal weight. Ask your vet, especially about puppies, weight loss or illness; weigh your dog monthly.
Not tested by usNo food is fed or tested here. Calories, prices and terms come from brands’ own pages, checked October 21, 2026; brand claims are quoted as their words.

Cookies Analytics cookies. Accept lets Google Analytics and Microsoft Clarity set cookies to see how the site is used. Reject: no analytics cookies and no Clarity; Google gets only cookieless visit signals. Google Analytics and Microsoft Clarity set cookies only if you accept. Privacy policy