Review · prices checked October 21, 2026

The Farmer's Dogno partner program

The Farmer's Dog review: recipes, cost and what to check first

The Farmer's Dog advertises plans starting at about $2/day on its website as of October 21, 2026; your dog's price comes after the quiz. For a 30 lb adult, the calorie estimate used here is 744 kcal daily.

a day, 30 lb adult744 kcalgrams unknown: no label calories published

per dayAfter quizbrand’s words: “start at about $2/day”

481220in ≈17 in
The 30 lb example dog, drawn to scale

Trustpilot3.9rated “Great”

Recipes

Which foods does it offer?

Turkey is listed as cooked, with no published calorie figure. The brand calls Fresh its “original, gently cooked food” and Instant Fresh its “new, shelf-stable option.” These are product formats, not interchangeable recipe names.

The storage difference matters: Fresh arrives refrigerated, while the brand says Instant Fresh can stay in your pantry and is prepared by adding water.

Choose the format with storage in mind: refrigerated Fresh or pantry-stored Instant Fresh.

  • price after quiz

    Turkey

    No calories published

    Cooked

  • In the brand’s words

    Fresh

    calories not on the label page

    “Our original, gently cooked food”

    “Fresh Our original, gently cooked food”thefarmersdog.com
  • In the brand’s words

    Instant Fresh

    calories not on the label page

    “Our new, shelf-stable option”

    “Instant Fresh Our new, shelf-stable option”thefarmersdog.com

How ordering works

How does the subscription work?

  1. How the plan is set

    “Plans are priced based on your dog's size and needs.”thefarmersdog.com
  2. First box

    “Get 50% off your first box”thefarmersdog.com
  3. Price

    “Plans start at about $2/day, and delivery options mostly range from 1 week to 2 months of food and include free shipping.”thefarmersdog.com
  4. Delivery

    “Free & flexible deliveries”thefarmersdog.com
  5. Pause or cancel

    “To cancel, navigate to your account and under the ‘Settings’ page, scroll to the Subscription section at the bottom of page, and click ‘Cancel Subscription.’”thefarmersdog.com

The Farmer's Dog says plans are priced around your dog's size and needs, with portions based on age, weight, breed, activity and body-condition goals. The advertised 50% discount applies to the first box, not subsequent deliveries.

The brand says delivery options mostly range from 1 week to 2 months of food, with free shipping. To pause, use “Pause Deliveries” in account Settings and select a restart date. Cancellation is under the Subscription section in Settings.

Check the ongoing quote separately from the first-box discount; pauses and cancellation are handled through your account.

Delivery and storage

Where does it ship and keep?

The Farmer's Dog says it ships to the 48 contiguous states. Fresh arrives in refrigerated boxes, with recurring deliveries described by the brand as flexible.

For thawed packs, the brand gives a refrigerator storage window of up to four days. Match the delivery schedule to the amount you can store and serve within that window.

Fresh needs refrigerated storage, and the brand's thawed-pack window is up to four days.

  • Delivery

    “We currently ship to the 48 contiguous states.”thefarmersdog.com
  • Storage

    “Once thawed, the packs should keep safely in the fridge for up to four days.”thefarmersdog.com
  • Pause and cancel

    “You will be charged before each order delivery date, on the date indicated in your account… Each charge will be submitted for payment on or around the next day following your subscription's cancellation deadline.”thefarmersdog.com
  • Packaging

    “Fresh food orders arrive with earth-friendly insulation, and either dry ice or cold packs to keep the food at a safe temperature while in transit.”thefarmersdog.com

On the label

What does the label establish?

The Farmer's Dog calls its recipes “complete and balanced” and says they are developed by on-staff, board-certified nutritionists. The Turkey page does not state a life stage; confirm the intended life stage before choosing it for your dog.

Across its recipes, the brand names meats including beef, turkey, pork and chicken, plus vegetables such as carrots and green beans. That general ingredient description is not a Turkey-specific ingredient list. For puppies or medical diets, ask your vet.

Read the recipe-specific ingredient and nutritional statement rather than treating the brand's general description as the full label.

The Farmer's Dog labels: calories and life stage as printed, checked October 21, 2026
RecipeCalories (as fed)Life stageType
Turkeynot publishednot statedCooked

Statement: “Complete and balanced.” Ingredients: “We offer pork and turkey, which are less common in traditional kibble and can be ‘novel’ for many dogs.”

Owners and recalls

What do ratings and recall searches show?

3.9 / 5TrustpilotOctober 21, 2026
0recall notices foundfda.gov search, October 21, 2026

On October 21, 2026, Trustpilot showed 3.9 out of 5, rated “Great.” The review count was not visible during the check, so the score cannot be presented alongside a verified count.

A search of fda.gov on October 21, 2026 found no recall notice naming The Farmer's Dog. That is a search result, not a guarantee. The Trustpilot score is an owner-rating summary, not a nutritional assessment.

Keep the owner score and recall search separate: they answer different questions.

Same dog, other brands

What do other brands cost?

For the same 30 lb adult, the estimated daily cost is $12.16 for JustFoodForDogs Beef & Russet Potato at its store's one-time price, versus $15.60 for Nom Nom Beef Mash at PetSmart's shelf price, both checked October 21, 2026. These are not ongoing subscription quotes.

The cooked-food rows use label calories and the same calorie target; calorie density changes the amount needed. We Feed Raw's row instead uses its 2–3% body-weight rule, not a veterinary calorie standard. See the price comparison for the different price bases.

Compare the same calorie target and price basis; the raw body-weight row is not calorie-equivalent.

30 lb adult (744 kcal a day): the same dog at each brand, prices checked October 21, 2026
Brand and recipeTypeGrams a dayPer dayPer monthPrice basis
We Feed Raw BeefRaw272–408 g*$5.33–8.00$162–243Lowest plan price: “Plans start at $8.89/pound”
JustFoodForDogs Beef & Russet PotatoCooked477 g$12.16$370One-time price; the first subscription box is $91.00
JustFoodForDogs Fish & Sweet PotatoCooked807 g$15.42$469Catalog price on the brand store
Nom Nom Beef MashCooked623 g$15.60$474PetSmart shelf price, not the subscription
The Farmer's Dog TurkeyCooked—After quiz—price after quiz

By the brand’s 2–3% of body weight rule: no calorie figure on the label, not comparable with the calorie-based rows.

Who it fits

Does this buying process suit you?

The service suits an owner comfortable completing a questionnaire and managing recurring deliveries online. If you want to compare pack prices and calculate portions before sharing your dog's details, consider alternatives with open pricing.

The 744 kcal estimate is for a neutered, moderately active adult; the FEDIAF, AAHA and WSAVA methods give a range of 694–794 kcal. These are starting points, not fixed portions. Weigh your dog monthly and adjust the amount as needed.

Decide whether a personalized quote and online subscription fit how you prefer to buy food.

  • Pause or cancel onlineThe brand describes it on its own pages.
    Suits
  • Price before the quizNo open price; the quiz gives one.
    Not for
  • Calories on the label pageNot published on the open pages.
    Not for

The Farmer's Dog: no partner program

Similar brands with a partner link

The Farmer's Dog has no partner program with this site, so it has no button here. These brands sell similar food; buttons open their stores in a new tab and are partner links: if you buy, this site may earn a commission at no cost to you.

Questions

The Farmer's Dog: short answers

Is The Farmer's Dog worth it?

That depends on your ongoing quote, storage space and willingness to manage recurring deliveries. Compare the regular price with alternatives for the same calorie allowance, rather than judging value from the first-box discount.

What ingredients are in The Farmer's Dog?

The brand names beef, turkey, pork, chicken and liver across its recipes, alongside vegetables including carrots, green beans, Brussels sprouts and broccoli. Those examples describe the range, not the ingredient list of every recipe.

Has The Farmer's Dog been recalled?

A search of fda.gov on October 21, 2026 found no recall notice naming The Farmer's Dog. This is a search result, not a guarantee.

What complaints do owners have?

The available Trustpilot information establishes an overall score, not specific complaint themes. It would not support claims about which problems owners report most often.

Sources

  1. 1
    FEDIAF Nutritional Guidelines 2025europeanpetfood.org · checked Oct 21, 2026
  2. 2
    The Farmer's Dog: Our Foodthefarmersdog.com · checked Oct 21, 2026
  3. 3
    The Farmer's Dog: Frequently Asked Questionsthefarmersdog.com · checked Oct 21, 2026
  4. 4
    Trustpilot: www.thefarmersdog.comtrustpilot.com · checked Oct 21, 2026
  5. 5
    The Farmer's Dog: Human-Grade Fresh Dog Food Deliverythefarmersdog.com · checked Oct 21, 2026
  6. 6
    The Farmer’s Dog Ingredients and Recipesthefarmersdog.com · checked Oct 21, 2026
  7. 7
    The Farmer's Dog: Farmers Dog Portionsthefarmersdog.com · checked Oct 21, 2026
  8. 8
    The Farmer's Dog: Terms of Usethefarmersdog.com · checked Oct 21, 2026
  9. 9
    JustFoodForDogs: Beef Russet Potatojustfoodfordogs.com · checked Oct 21, 2026
  10. 10
    PetSmart: Nom Nom All Life Stages Frozen Dog Food Beefpetsmart.com · checked Oct 21, 2026
Partner linksSome buttons are partner links: if you buy after clicking, this site may earn a commission at no cost to you. Rows are sorted by price per day, never by commission; brands without a program are listed the same way.
Not veterinary adviceCalories and grams are estimates for healthy adult dogs at ideal weight. Ask your vet, especially about puppies, weight loss or illness; weigh your dog monthly.
Not tested by usNo food is fed or tested here. Calories, prices and terms come from brands’ own pages, checked October 21, 2026; brand claims are quoted as their words.

Cookies Analytics cookies. Accept lets Google Analytics and Microsoft Clarity set cookies to see how the site is used. Reject: no analytics cookies and no Clarity; Google gets only cookieless visit signals. Google Analytics and Microsoft Clarity set cookies only if you accept. Privacy policy